[Baby Boy Blue] Finished!

It is amazing how quickly a quilt comes together when the blocks are already done. That is the case with this quilt.

[Baby Boy Blue] Finished!

Back when I created Small World, I wanted to include a wide variety of fabric. I believe the final quilt had nearly 100 different prints in it. That, combined with the construction method I used (a variation of Quick Sticks by Kate Conklin), I ended up with a surplus of blocks. I was ok with the extra because one of Jonathan’s co-workers is having her first child — a baby boy — and I knew I could turns those extras into a baby quilt for her. To make this quilt look different from its predecessor, I alternated the orientation of every other block for a rail fence pattern.

[Baby Boy Blue] Finished

I find that I do a lot of thinking while my sewing machine is running or I am pressing my seams; I am sure this is the case with most quilters. With this quilt, I got to thinking a lot about the quilting process. I am amazed that I truly enjoy nearly every aspect of making a quilt. I have not always felt this way though. I used to dread putting on the binding. Now, I even enjoy hand sewing it to the back (my technique has improved and I am faster now too). How about that?! I also like cleaning up my sewing space when it becomes a wreck in the midst of creating. There is one step though that I do not necessarily love and that is cutting fabric. I have one WIP in my stack that has been stuck at the cutting stage since last July; I got bored cutting out all of those little pieces, so I started other projects!

Anyway, back to the quilt at hand…

I do love making baby quilts (this one measured 35″ x 42″ prewashing). There are not that many blocks to make, the quilt is fairly easy to maneuver under the machine and putting on the binding does not take too long.

[Baby Boy Blue] Finished

For the quilting of this quilt, I moved outside of my comfort zone again to get more comfortable with FMQing beyond stippling. I attempted square corner meandering — I know, advanced, right? Ha. You can see that not all of the quilting stitches have right angles, but I feel like I got better the more I worked at it. I used a slightly variegated grey thread and I like how it looks in the finished piece.

[Baby Boy Blue] Finished!

Related to the quilting, I am back to having problems free motion quilting on my machine, a Janome 6600P* (top thread shreds/breaks frequently). I thought the problem had resolved itself (Aurifil thread did the trick, or so I thought), but midway through quilting this, it started happening again. I think my thread broke a half dozen times while I quilted less than half of the quilt. It is so frustrating because I have FMQ’ed many things on this machine using economical Coats quilting thread and it worked just fine for a long time. I have read on some forums that it might be a bobbin tension issue. The machine is due for a servicing so hopefully that will fix it for good.

For the backing, I used some leftover pieces of flannel from the backing of the first Trudy quilt. I really need to use flannel more on my quilt backs. It makes the quilt so cuddly.

[Baby Boy Blue] Finished

And once again, I pieced together two large batting scraps for the batting and the seam is undetectable in the finished piece.

[Baby Boy Blue] Finished

For the binding I used the same Michael Miller navy pindot that I used in Small World, plus I added in one little bit of a Hope Valley print.

This quilt will be gifted to the mother-to-be on Sunday at her shower. I hope she likes it!

[Baby Boy Blue] Finished

*I am mentioning my machine specifics in case anyone else is having that same problem with this machine.

14 thoughts on “[Baby Boy Blue] Finished!

  1. Wow, the quilt is great! and fabulous that you were able to peice the top so quickly! I like the right corner fm’ing.. i bet it would be great on another square block, like a log cabin or something similiar as well! I am sure the mother to be is going to love it!

    Like

  2. My son and daughter-in-law are having their first babe in October–I LUV this quilt–either in pinks or blues it would be super–and easy-peasy to patch. Will definitely take a page from your book and use flannel on the backing–great idea. Thank you for your great pix–a long-time Grand’mere-quilter…Julierose

    Like

    • Thank you, Julie! I think this quilt in pinks would look fantastic! If you do something like that, you’ll have to let me know.

      Like

  3. Great looking quilt! And I love the right angle meandering! Your thread breaking issue definitely sounds like a tension problem. And often when they do the annual service it solves this sort of tension problem. I would be sure to mention this when you bring her in for her annual…

    Like

    • Michelle — hearing that you think it’s a tension problem gives me hope that it can be fixed. I’m crossing my fingers that’s the case. As for quilting, I first tried the design you did on your cross quilt. I quickly realized that I am no where near steady enough to attempt that so I got out my seam ripper and did the right angle meandering instead. Maybe one day, or maybe I’ll hire you to do it sometime. :)

      Like

  4. this is a wonderful quilt! I love the quilting you did. We have the same machine! I have problems free motion quilting large quilts. The thread bunches on the underside of the quilt. It doesn’t mind quilting small projects but big quilts, forget about it. Silly temperamental machines!

    Like

    • Laura, I’m a little late to respond to your comment, but I thought we had the same machine. Mine used to FMQ without any problems (large or small quilts) using regular old Coats 100% cotton quilting thread. After getting the thread shredding/breaking problem, I did all of the normal fixes and the only thing that seemed to help was using Aurifill thread. I have read that my problem might be a bobbin tension issue and I might need to get a separate bobbin casing for when I FM. I will take my machine in this month for her servicing and I’m hoping that helps.

      Your problem, with the thread bunching, is different from mine and I really wonder why it does that. Are you using a supreme slider when you FM? Do you pull your bobbin thread up to the top before you start sewing? I don’t know that this is related but I have realized that I have to really turn up my tension (between a 7 and 8) when I FM in order to avoid getting the “eyelash” stitches on the back of the quilt.

      Anyway, I hope your quilting problems get fixed. It’s so frustrating trying to sew and the machine getting in the way of doing just that!

      Like

    • Thanks, Hollie! As soon as I finish up a little project, I am taking my machine and hopefully it’ll be good as new when I get her back. [crossing my fingers!!]

      Like

Leave a Reply

