Quilt Labels

Most often, I have labeled my quilts using a sew-in tag with my LULU~BLOOM moniker. In addition to using the sew-in tag, I have also tried machine letter-stitches, hand writing with a fabric pen, and hand embroidery on a pre-printed label. For awhile I have felt like this is not enough but I could not think of a better (and easy) solution.

Past Labeling Methods
I want an attractive, easily reproduced, inconspicuous labeling solution that gives the who/what/when of the quilt as well as care instructions.

I thought about creating a label design and printing through Spoonflower, but I wanted a label solution with more flexibility than that.

I looked online to see what others are doing (there is even a flickr grouped dedicated to quilt labels) and I saw a label that I really liked. Rachel (2ndAveStudio) uses a stamp to create her label which got me thinking that stamping would be a good method for me. Then I saw this label on flickr that incorporated care label icons. With those two labels as inspiration, I set about to create a label design that would best work for me.

New Quilt Labeling Solution

{ After heat setting and washing, there was not any noticeable fading. }

I spent a little time in Illustrator to create my designs then uploaded those files to Simon’s Stamps on Sunday night. By Thursday afternoon I had my custom stamps in hand. That turn around time is really impressive when you consider that Simon’s Stamps is in Massachusetts and I am in Texas, and the package was sent USPS First Class Mail and not even Priority. The stamps are very economical too; it was less than $25 for two custom stamps, including shipping.

New Quilt Labeling Solution

{ In order to get clean stamp lines, I taped down the fabric to be stamped. }

To give me some flexibility, I decided to make two stamps. One with the “made by” information and the other with the care instructions. The recipient and date information will be handwritten with a fabric pen.

New Quilt Labeling Solution

{ Several colors of Kona solids after being washed. }

I want my labels to blend into the quilt, so I will stamp on fabric that coordinates with the quilt and then piece it into the back. I bought a few different colors of fabric ink to see what would work best on a variety of fabric.

New Quilt Labeling Solution

{ I tried black VersaCraft and black VersaMagic ink, but thought the VersaCraft provided a richer image. The brown VersaCraft is ok and works as a not-so-dark neutral, but I wish it was a little darker (this one looks like a milk chocolate and I wish it looked more like a dark chocolate). The white VersaMagic is a chalk-like ink and shows up on dark fabric/paper. The stamped image doesn't show up as much as I would like but it is still legible. I doubt I will need it often since I usually have at least a little bit of lighter fabric in my quilt backs (so I can use the black or brown). I also tried a light grey VersaMagic ink, but it was neither dark enough or light enough to really show up on any color of fabric. I couldn't find a darker grey but I may try to create one of my own by mixing the light grey VersaMagic + black VersaMagic. }

After testing the different inks and on different fabrics (and washing the fabric to see if it really is permanent), I am going to use VersaCraft (Real Black, Chocolate) and VersaMagic (Cloud White) inks. I ordered mine here. FYI: The ink manufacturer‘s directions say to prewash the fabric to remove sizing and then heat set the ink with an iron.

I think these labels are going to be a great solution for me and I look forward to seeing them worked into a finished quilt.

- – - – - – - – - – - -

I am not sure why I feel the need to be so longwinded just to show you my new quilt labels. I find that ironic because I really struggle to turn my thoughts into words.

29 thoughts on “Quilt Labels

  1. Thank you very much! I have been recently thinking about labeling the quilts I am starting to make. I love your personalized stamp and really appreciate all of the detailed info you have provided. Thanks again!

  2. Thank you for all the great information! I am still trying to figure out how I want to label my quilts and your idea for the stamp is great! Does the ink fade at all in the wash?

    • Hollie, In the test batch that I did (which included prewashing the fabric and heat setting the ink after stamping), I washed the stamped on swatches and I didn’t notice any kind of fading after taking them out of the dryer and ironing them. I even washed them on ‘regular’ and not ‘gentle,’ which is harsher than my quilt care instructions in the stamp. Good luck with figuring out how you’re going to label your quilts.

    • Paige, thanks! I like those tags too and I still have many of them left, so the plan is to continue using them until they run out. :)

  3. How clever! I bowled over by yours and Rachel’s unique and creative labels. Thanks you so much for sharing all the details. I am so inspired to create my own version now.

  4. What a great solution! I have been debating labeling options, but have yet to really search them out. Thanks so much for doing the work for me! :) Now to take the time and initiative to create me own. Thanks for the inspiration!

  5. Pingback: ['Round the World] Finished | LULUBLOOM: And now, she quilts.

  6. Pingback: [Blushing] Finished | LULUBLOOM: And now, she quilts.

  7. oh thanks! I just saw your post – they look great! I had never been to the label group before until someone just pointed me to it. your label looks super I really like the “use often”
    you genius!

  8. Thanks for this great information! I’ve been struggling with the label issue myself. I have a friend that dabbles in graphic arts on the side, and she came up with a logo for me, but I haven’t done aything with it yet. Maybe I’ll go the stamp route now :) Great blog!

  9. This slim and light tablet comes with specifications that
    provides high computing power. The built quality on the XPS is also a
    solid one with aluminum carbon chassis, giving it a
    sturdy, premium look. The version of Windows on my tablet pc is Windows XP and there is no difference between it and the PC that I don’t use anymore.

  10. The device is also very light, weighing slightly less than
    3 oz. Sony Cybershot DSC S3000 reviews have made
    it a foremost choice for millions of mobile users.
    The sale for Samsung Galaxy S has reached 10 millionth mark,
    thus making it the most successful Android smartphone
    so far.

  11. Whether enjoying a little league, high school, college or major
    league baseball game, fans should remember these important
    items before leaving for the ballpark. four GHz which is why you want
    to invest in a jammer that can tamper this signal.
    With the i – Phone you can stay connected anywhere you go, and access maps,
    flight info, weather reports, restaurants and more in every new city you travel to.

  12. I do not know if it’s just me or if everyone else encountering problems
    with your blog. It looks like some of the written text within your
    posts are running off the screen. Can someone else please comment and
    let me know if this is happening to them as well? This may be a issue with my web browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Many thanks

Leave a Reply

